Skip to content

25 Months

October 23, 2012

This past Saturday (October 20th), I erased the “4” on the chalkboard and changed it to “5”.  25 Months on the wait list.  31 months in the adoption process thus far. 

And I do believe we are finally getting close.

Yes, “close” is all relative, so I’ll explain a little.  We’re finally up in the top 5ish of our age/gender preference, so depending on medical preferences of those ahead of us, we could be hearing soon.  Soon as in, it is possible that we could hear any day, but more likely that it may be in the next few months.  Definite potential that it could be into early next year before we hear.  But all that to say, we’re getting close!  We are absolutely praying it is SOONER rather than later.

I think we have finally chosen a paint color for her room :)  And my amazing mom, who was here with my dad visiting last week, helped me clean out her room and rid it of anything that will not be hers.  Which was a giant feat.  And feels AMAZING to be done with!  So I just might paint soon.  And it’s slightly surreal that we will have a pink room in this house. :)  It’s an almost-white, blush-pink, and I think it is perfect.  I kept going back and forth between white and a barely-pink, and I think I will love this one and be really happy with the pink.  Because I’m super girly like that. :)

There have been more referrals in this past month than there have been in months (years?), which honestly does raise my spirits.  Things are moving, and that’s always good.  We are in the process of getting our 3rd USCIS (immigration) fingerprinting done, which is crazy.  Would’ve never thought in a million years that we’d be having to do it for a 3rd time.  The first 2 times the process was seamless, so I’m praying for the same this 3rd time.  I talked with a super kind and helpful officer at the CIS office today, which was a lovely and encouraging experience.  Grateful for God’s provision every step of the way.

And I have to post the greatest little conversation ever that occurred at our house tonight. :)  I was showing Seth the sample of paint on Baby Sister’s bedroom wall tonight.  Oliver and I stayed in there for a little bit just chatting, and he said so sweetly and with endearing excitement, “I just wonder what she is going to look like!”  Without missing a beat, Sullivan hollers from the next room, “well, she’s gonna have crazy hair!”  Hahaha, so great. :)  And let me just say I cannot wait for that crazy haired girl to get here!  So excited for sweet curls and headbands and bows and barrettes.  *Squeal*

I’m thankful for a renewed excitement in my heart and for continued hope.  I am so beyond grateful to and for those of you who are praying for us.  It humbles me beyond what I can express that the Holy Spirit would bring us to mind to people for prayer.  People we’ve not even met in person.  It baffles me.  It is so encouraging to get notes or comments from you, letting us know how you’ve been praying.  That we are on your mind.  Thank you, from the bottom of our hearts.  He is carrying us, and I will continue to say, it is an honor to be walking this road.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynae permalink
    October 24, 2012 1:01 am

    Anxious in waiting for you all as well. Excited to see this face of this little girl that was born in your heart! Praying it will be very very soon! I love reading and watching how you are preparing her brothers for her arrival…I can’t wait to see their faces. Keep in there…the end of your wait is coming near! :-)

  2. Jessica Y permalink
    October 24, 2012 5:17 am

    I am so grateful and humbled that the Lord asked me to pray for y’all…people I haven’t met. That’s just how He works though, isn’t it? Amazing.

  3. October 24, 2012 7:01 am

    Hi Joy! I love it that we have other families like you all to go through this with. We are praying for you guys – this is a hard stretch, even though we’re getting closer. I never thought we would be doing a third round of finger prints either! I love that you’re about to paint! That will be so fun to have her room closer to being done. Please post pics!
    Hope to hear great news for you all so soon!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

